Lemon Drizzle Cake

I went to the Sturton and Stow History Society’s Open Day recently; it was a super afternoon and a lot of hard work had been put in to put on such an interesting exhibition. Whilst there, like at our own Village Show, I met lots of old school friends and other villagers that I only see at these events; it was great to catch up and I’m looking forward to the next. Anyway to the point of this post; I also met two of our new Vice Presidents, one was selling tickets for a WWI Cake, I didn’t win it but a school friend did; when I said I was on the Committee of the Sturton and Stow Show she pointed out that she had made the Lemon Drizzle Cake to the recipe which the Show Committee has published in the schedule and on our blog and on Facebook but when cutting it, it was not cooked in the middle. This set me a challenge, I had to try it. Today was the day; lemons grated, other ingredients weighed out and then mixed together, 2lb bread tin prepared (I actually used one of those silicone things). Oven up to temperature and cake in, two things different to the published recipe, I put paper over the top for the first half hour. After 40 minutes I put a skewer in only to find it didn’t come out clean so back in the oven it went; I think I left it in for 50 minutes which is 15 minutes longer than the published recipe says. Below is the result. I have to say it is the best lemon drizzle cake I have ever made; perhaps that’s because I haven’t made one before! Please if you read this and know anyone that will be making this cake can you ask them to check with a skewer to make sure it is cooked.

LDC1

LDC2

About sturtonandstowshow

The Sturton and Stow Agricultural and Horticultural Association celebrated its 126th anniversary in 2013. The next Annual Show will be held on 4th October 2014 at the Sturton- by-Stow Primary School and Youth Wing. The classes include: flowers, cacti, fruit, vegetables, roots, corn, cakes, art, handicrafts, floral art, cookery and photography. We also aim have a wide range of displays from local organisations and crafts people as well as a classic car display.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

